The Association of Professional Engineers of Trinidad and Tobago (APETT) recently held its 64th Annual General Meeting on 26th March 2023.  At that meeting a number of engineers were recognized and awarded for their career achievements and contributions to the ongoing work of the association as well as the society.

The most prestigious award, the Career of Excellence was conferred upon Eng. Dr. Rae Furlonge, former President of APETT and a Fellow of the Association. Dr. Furlonge is one of the region’s premier Traffic and Transportation Engineers and has worked in the public and private sectors as well as academia for over 36 years. He has done consultancy work in transportation engineering design, national transportation policy for regional banks, state agencies and private developers. He has authored several peer-reviewed journal papers and hundreds of newspaper articles advocating for the use of proper scientific traffic and transportation engineering practices and policies. As APETT President, he initiated the “Legacy” project which captures for posterity, the careers of scores of leading engineers in Trinidad and Tobago. He was the Chairman of an Advisory Committee to the Honourable Minister of Works and Transport, Government of Trinidad and Tobago for the preparation of a comprehensive National Internal Transportation Policy for Trinidad and Tobago. Dr. Furlonge has been a mentor to several young engineers and supervised post-graduate project students at UTT and UG. He has previously been awarded the R.V.S. Aleong Award for Sterling Service to APETT and is a Fellow of the Institute of Transportation Engineers and the American Society of Civil Engineers.

The R.V.S. Aleong Award for Sterling Service to APETT was awarded to Eng. Ahmin Baksh and Eng. Margarita Leonard.  Both are Past Presidents and Fellows of the Association who have continued their service over several years in many different capacities on the Executive Council as well as representing APETT on the Board of Engineering of Trinidad and Tobago.

The Aldwyn L. Lequay Award for Outstanding Young Engineer as awarded to Eng. Risha Cozier and Eng. Ezekiel Yorke. The two young members have shown remarkable progress in their careers and have displayed excellence on engineering projects. Eng. Cozier’s area of work is RC shear wall design whilst Eng. Yorke’s area is fluid mechanics and fluid flow related to the human heart function.

The APETT Engineering Research and Innovation Award was given to Eng. Kevin Hassanali for his research and publication in the area of developing a lean metrics-based productivity model for practitioners’ use during the execution of capital investment projects in Trinidad and Tobago.

In addition, the following members were elevated to Fellow:

  • Imitaz Easahak
  • Dr. Haydn Furlonge
  • Jainarine Bansee
  • Dr. Chris Maharaj

We congratulate all of our awardees for their achievements, hard work and dedication to the profession.

Leave A Comment